Between the Wheels

Ernest-Hemingway-Quote-About-Courage

You know how that rabbit feels Going under your speeding wheels…

I’ve been struggling for awhile where to begin this blog, and thought this would be the perfect place. As someone who struggles with mental health issues and have done for as long as I can remember, the image those words invoke paints a picture a lot better than I can. It’s a lot easier for me to “find the words” to describe what I’m feeling or trying to say, by way of snippets of lyrics that have been able to speak for me.

As someone who stumbled across the music of Rush around age 12 or so and related to so much to their music throughout several decades, for reasons I can’t even begin to explain, I find it easier to “say” things through some of Neil Peart’s lyrics. It seems no matter where my head is, or what’s going on in my life, he has written a song about it. When I’m in a bad place mentally, or my mind is reeling over almost anything going on in the world, I let Rush (the Canadian power trio, not the bloviating asshat) do the talking and relating for me.

Many thanks to Neil Peart, Geddy Lee, and Alex Lifeson for what you all have done for me over the last 35 or so years, and what you have given others loyal fans for the last 41. I was late to the party, from the standpoint of “jumping on the fangirl wagon” around 1978, but I’m so glad I came!

As for my claim that no matter the circumstance, they really do have a song for that, they even had one that inspired the name of this blog. Between the Wheels is exactly where my mind lives more days than not, and the inspiration not only behind the name, but my wanting to speak up and say something to reach others. I am tired of hiding in the shadows, and hiding is unhealthy.

The imagery on the title page is taken from artwork from their album Snakes and Arrows and is from the song Spindrift.

As the waves crash in
On the western shore
It makes me feel uneasy
The spray that’s torn away
Is an image of the way I feel…

I’ll be writing posts relating to mental health issues, recovering from religious trauma, political issues that affect me, or any number of things. Not all entries will of course be related to Rush in any way, but if I am triggered from PTSD, or have some issue I’m trying to work out, feel like making social commentary or an observation, or needing to self-soothe, then yes, those entries will more oftentimes than not be prefaced with a lyrical passage from one of their songs. There may also be days when I have nothing to riff of of and pulling up something random with provide a jump-off point.

Welcome. I’m glad you’re here.

-Brigid Fitch

Leave a Reply

